Easy Vegan Food: Snacks

Another vegan post! I am really having a lot of fun documenting the things I eat. It’s making me conscious of what I’m eating, and happy when I know I am eating well. There is definitely a lot less stress surrounding food now that I am putting more thought into what I am eating. It does take a lot of time, I’m finding, to really concentrate on my thoughts surrounding food, and I’m lucky (well, in some ways) that I can dedicate the time to it at the moment. And I’m doing some fun baking which gives me something to do in the day. All in all, it’s going pretty well.

IMG_0624

First snack, houmous and vegetable sticks. I think houmous is pretty much a vegan staple. I always used to make it to put in sandwiches when I was a vegetarian, but there is a lot of choice in supermarkets now. Here I have paired a chilli houmous with cucumber and carrot sticks. It’s not very inventive, but it takes very little preparation, and is very healthy.

IMG_0615

I had so much fun making these! They are banana muffins, and I am surprised how well they turned out. I had some coconut milk left over from making a curry and used this recipe. I added a few chopped nuts, iced them with peanut butter and decorated them with dried banana. My dad likes them, and I even managed to get my mum to try one, and she is very fussy and sceptical of vegan food (I didn’t tell her they were vegan, though). I really think I am turning into a bit of a banana freak. I used to hate them, but they are so tasty and can be used in a lot of things. These are either used as an afternoon treat if I’m peckish or an easy breakfast if I’m in a rush.

IMG_0619

I have always loved sweet things: cake, chocolate, biscuits, and going vegan has meant making a lot of sacrifices. I have found yummy alternatives, like the banana muffins, but they are a bit more labour intensive. I heard about Nakd bars, and thought I’d pick some up when I was in Tesco. These are not something I would snack on every day because they are expensive (£1.50-£2.00 for a box of 4, and they were on offer!). But, they are super tasty and come in lots of flavours, and I can still have a chocolate-y taste if I’m craving it. Of course, there are cheaper alternatives. Cereal bars are very easy to make, and there are other accidentally vegan cereal bars in the shops. Some of Tesco’s everyday value range are vegan, and they cost 75p for a box of six, so I definitely feel less guilty reaching for one of those. Another reason I wanted to blog about what I was eating was to show that vegan food can be relatively cheap, and this is an example of how you can end up spending a lot on products that don’t last very long. But if you do want to treat yourself, try a Nakd bar.

I feel like that was a nice variety of snacks. Snacking is good and healthy, and I’m glad that I am listening to my body in between meals and giving it what it needs. I can’t wait to make some more vegan treats myself.

Leave a Reply

